TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old July 22nd, 2020, 09:45 PM
Daniel B Widdis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3090: BUTTOCK-BALL vote!

A dozen definitions of BUTTOCK-BALL are presented here for your consideration, only 11 of which were submitted by players, with the remaining entry coming from a dictionary, or something like it.* You had 35 ¼ hours to submit, and you likewise have 35 ¼ hours to vote, as the deadline is at 7am PDT on Friday, July 24, which is 10am EDT, 1400 UTC, 3pm BST in the UK, 4pm CEST in the Netherlands, and Midnight AEST in Melbourne leading to 2 am NZST on Saturday in Wellington.



1. in cricket, when a* fielder catches the ball before boundary line and reckons that he is going to cross the boundary, then he can throw it away into the field which can either be caught by any of the other fielders or he himself by entering into the field. In this case the batsman is deemed to be out.



2. The nickname given to the house flag of the Cunard Line, adopted in 1878, which shows a lion rampant or on a field gules holding a globe.



3. [S.W. Eng. Regional] the Giant Puffball _Calvatia gigantica_ which grows to 28 inches and often has a cleft across its center.



4. (obs.) Association football slang expression meaning to foul up, to do the opposite of what is appropriate.



5. A dance attended by prostitutes.



6. A surprising victory.



7. the rounded stern of a ship which swells out below the waterline.



8. in football (soccer), a ball propelled by a player's hip, esp. when scoring.



9. a description of round-shaped female buttocks, as opposed to square, heart-shaped, or V-shaped.



10. [NE regional] a cut of meat from the foreleg of a pig, once tied and prepared for roasting; also called pork butt or Boston butt.



11. Derisive name for a popular high headdress worn during the turn of the late 17th and early 18th centuries in Europe, which was supported by a wire framework called a commode.



12. A usually large rubber ball used especially for strengthening muscles and improving posture and balance, typically by leaning against or sitting on the ball and assuming different positions or by maneuvering the ball without using hands.









--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...40dixonary.net.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.