TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old August 14th, 2019, 08:32 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3006 PULLIKINS Defs - Vote Now!

Apologies for the slight delay - I was distracted becuase a man who is
doing a CCTV survey of our drains turned up ealier than I'd expected. The
registration number of his van is POO 4 CAM.

Anyway, enough of that. Here we have 11 carefully-constructed defsof the
word PULLIKINS, only one of which came from my dictionary. Please vote for
your two favourites by public reply to this message, before the deadline of:

09:00 BST on Friday 16th August, which is
08:00 GMT
10:00 CET
4:00 AM EDT
1:00 AM PST
20:00 NZST

-- Tim L

*** PULLIKINS

1. loose trousers.

2. [Scot.] a diaper.

3. another name for SPILLIKINS.

4. frantic or excited activity.

5. a freight car on a railway. [Eng.]

6. forceps or pliers used to extract teeth.

7. a specialized come-a-long used in the medical field.

8. [S. Brit.] pranks pulled by children on All Hallow's Eve.

9. petticoat breeches gathered at the knee; worn by men in mid 17th
century Western Europe.

10. [York. folklore] an imp who picks ripe apples at night, leaving only
unripe or misshapen fruit.

11. loose pantaloons worn by women in the late 19th Century; more
popularly known as “bloomers,” after their creator Amelia Jenks Bloomer
(1818-1894).

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...oglegroups.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.