TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old October 13th, 2019, 07:51 PM
Shani Naylor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3020 Time to vote for LOCKS-AND-LICE

Hi all

We have 10 fake definitions for our word LOCKS-AND-LICE, along with one
that was found in a dictionary. Please vote for two by the deadline.

1. A schoolboy nickname for a dish of noodles and rice, frequently
served under food rationing in Britain during the Second World War.
2. [Cockney rhyming slang] dice.
3. [Scottish] Parts of the loom: The locks of the loom press the newly
created weft thread against the already woven fabric using a lice and thus
allowing more design possibilities.
4. A brand name for ivermectin, which is an effective alternative for
the treatment of head-lice infestation, hence reference to "locks."
5. Mice (rhyming slang).
6. An image or diagram containing lines, usually horizontal, vertical,
and diagonal, sometimes of varying widths, used to test the accuracy of
reproduction of image copying or transmission equipment.
7. Something very likely to be liked.
8. A kind of cloth.
9. [sl.] Spice (in imitation of UK "rhyming slang").
10. A hula hoop technique for two people.
11. Traditional New Zealand sandwich made with Marmite, smoked fish and
cheese.


The deadline is 7am Wednesday 16 October my time (NZDT) or:



Los Angeles, USA Tues, 15 Oct 2019 at 11am
PDT

New York, USA Tues, 15 Oct 2019 at 2pm
EDT

London, United Kingdom Tues, 15 Oct 2019 at 7pm BST

Amsterdam, Netherlands Tues, 15 Oct 2019 at 8pm CEST



(please check these times and adjust accordingly)

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...mail.gmail.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.