TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old September 28th, 2019, 01:49 PM
Judy Madnick
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] OT: Google Drive, continued

A topic from the past...

I'm trying to figure out why Google Drive shows that I have used 11.1 Gb of 15 Gb, yet I'm not seeing anything near that amount of usage! My phone is backed up (60 apps), but when I look at storage used, the files are in Mb and Kb, with nothing adding up to Gb in an obvious way. I'm not able to find everything that's backed up with the total usage. How do I find everything that's been backed up?

To be honest, I'm not that interested in backing up "stuff" to Google Drive (although the phone backup is worthwhile). I do have a few Google docs from an organization to which I belong.

Thanks,

Judy Madnick




Original message
From: "Ryan McGill" <ryanmmcgill (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
To: dixonary (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com;
Dated: 5/25/2018 7:49:50 PM
Subject: Re: [Dixonary] OT: New Computer


Judy,


Google Drive monitors the folder(s) you've selected while it is running. The program will run in the background from your toolbar (on Mac; I assume it's the same on Windows, and I quit using Linux before I started using Drive, so I don't know if it's available there), but you can also close it. While it's running, if you edit a file, it will update the Cloud version. If you delete (or move) files from the folder it's monitoring, Google Drive will mark those files for deletion and "move" them to an analog of your email trash. You will be able to restore a file from that trash (which you can access from Drive's web interface) as long as your Drive space isn't used up.


There's a pretty good group of settings available within Drive to help control how it behaves.


On Friday, May 25, 2018 at 12:58:06 PM UTC-7, Judy Madnick wrote:
Ryan,

If you delete files from your computer, I'm assuming they're not deleted from Google Drive; is that correct? Would you have to delete everything from Google Drive and then re-sync if you've deleted files from your computer? And how does it work with edited files?

Judy

Today is the first day of the rest of your life.



Original message
From: "Ryan McGill" <ryanm... (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
To: dixo... (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com;
Dated: 5/25/2018 2:01:44 PM
Subject: Re: [Dixonary] OT: New Computer


Gerri,


I'm afraid it appears you are creeping.


Google Drive is a program that provides Cloud-based backup for your files. In order to make this work, you'd download the program from Google, sign into your (Google) account, and tell the program what folders you want to upload (sync) to the cloud. I believe the file limit is around 30Gig right now.. It would sync those folders automatically.


Then you download Google Drive on the new machine and tell your computer where to save the items. It will download them to your preferred location automatically.


So you don't have to do them at the same time, and they aren't technically connected. You're using the Internet/Cloud as an intermediary (and it will also back up anything you save to the sync folders). If you want to do it at the same time, you could, there'd just be a little more lag than if there were a direct connection. That is, a file would have to be completely written to the Cloud by your old computer before you could read it to write on your new computer.


If at some later point, you wish to delete your items from the Cloud and still have them on your computer, you'll have to move the files from wherever you chose to sync them. In the past, I've been able to do this by renaming the syncing folder, but I don't think that's still how it works. I'm not really sure why you'd want to do this other than concerns about privacy, but it's possible if you want.


I've used this system for work for around 5-7 years. And I've used it personally for around 3-4 years. It works fantastically, and I've never had a data breach related to it.




On Friday, May 25, 2018 at 7:49:57 AM UTC-7, Guerri wrote:
Presumably the two computers will have to be attached to each other for
this process.

I can't remember what I did last time. I just looked up my notes and
I've had my current machine since (are you sitting down?) ...March,
2008. It is 10 years old. Yikes!

I don't understand what you are telling me. I understand how to download
software, but I am guessing I would download to the old machine since
nothing is set up on the new one. Then presumably the computers would be
attached to each other? With a USB cable? Or would this all be done
online? I don't know why I am even asking. I could download the
software, and read whatever instructions come with it. This is not one
of my better days!

I am way behind the times.

I have other decisions to make as well. For example, I have partitioned
my drive on my current machine. I am asking myself why I wanted to do
that, but as best I can recall, I wanted part of the drive for the
operating system itself then a partition for my software and a partition
for my data. Needless to say, my notes are sketchy. I think I wanted to
reduce the time for backing things up, and would only back up my own
stuff. Meaning any data files, and any software aside from the Windows
itself.

I think I have somehow become that little old lady creeping along ahead
of you on the highway. Perhaps I should put this off until tomorrow, or
at least til the laundry is done, and possibly some of the yard work.
And I am forgetting my nap. Yes, the nap.


Guerri

On 5/24/2018 2:15 PM, Daniel B. Widdis wrote:
> If you want to do it completely painlessly, you can download this
> software:
>
> https://www.easeus.com/free- pc-transfer-software/
>
> Use the Professional version so you can transfer over your network,
> but use the "Free Trial" that lets you transfer 2x without paying the
> $50 license.
>
>
>
> On Thu, May 24, 2018 at 6:43 AM, Guerri Stevens
> <gue... (AT) guerristevens (DOT) com gue... (AT) guerristevens (DOT) com>> wrote:
>
> It's Windows. Vista, in fact. I am considering waiting a bit. On
> the other hand, maybe I should just do it. But there are a number
> of other tasks needing attention. Anyway, I will make notes or
> print any advice I receive.
>
> In the meantime I can work in the yard in advance of the rain
> predicted for this afternoon, and/or wonder what the point is of
> being on the "do not call" list if we get calls anyway.
>
>
>
> Sent from my iPhone
>
> On May 24, 2018, at 7:53 AM, Guerri Stevens
> <gue... (AT) guerristevens (DOT) com
> gue... (AT) guerristevens (DOT) com>> wrote:
>
> My current computer is pretty old, so I bought a new one.
> Of course the minute I did that, the old one seemed to be
> running OK. However it's only a matter of time ...
>
>
> Any ideas on how to transfer everything?
>
>
> I can remember a time when I was happy to have a new
> machine, but right now, it is another chore.
>
>
> My own files will have to be transferred. Software: I
> think that some stuff can be downloaded. Tbird, for example.
>
> --
> Guerri
>


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...APTOP-NG0A64CK.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.