PDA

View Full Version : Backups on a Mac?

Mike
February 27th, 2011, 04:16 AM
While I've been working on PCs since the early 1980s, I don't know enough to support Brent with his Mac.

I need to create an easy backup solution for him. He has a G5 running OS X (10.4 or 10.5, I believe).

We have an external drive that should have sufficient capacity to hold all the working files that Brent uses.

What is the best way to back up to that drive?

On my PCs, I use some scripts with XXcopy to mirror the files to my external drives. This saves all my settings and data files, so in case of a disk crash, worst case scenario is to reinstall all the programs and then restore the settings and data. (I'm not confident that an image backup would allow me to pick and choose what needs to be restored.)

Is there anything similar on the Mac?

If not, what advice can anyone give for backing up the G5 with OS X, so that all the user files (including those on the desktop and in folders on the desktop) and program settings are preserved? ...thanks!

sidney
February 27th, 2011, 06:32 AM
What is the best way to back up to that drive?

The easy Mac way is with something called Time machine that is built in to Mac OS X. Format the external disk using Disk Utility (You run DIsk Utility by using the Finder menu Go | Utilities which opens the folder containing the utilities apps, then double-clicking on Disk Utility). To format a disk use the Erase tab. Select to format it as Mac OS Extended Journaled.

The Apple support knowledge base article on Time Machine is at http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1427