PDA

View Full Version : COMPUSERVE mail server being blacklisted AGAIN!


heinz57g
June 13th, 2005, 05:21 AM
like about a year ago, i keep getting, since friday late, more and more email mssgs returned with an error saying the COMPUSERVE mail server was blacklisted.

has anybody else experienced this last few days?

i know there is little (nothing?) one can do about this, but i really wonder how somebody as large and powerful as AOL/CIS cannot prevent this, or, when it happens, rectify it quickly.

greetings - heinz -

Dan in Saint Louis
June 13th, 2005, 08:31 AM
i really wonder how somebody as large and powerful as AOL/CIS cannot prevent this, or, when it happens, rectify it quickly.
Because it brings in no ad revenue?

heinz57g
June 13th, 2005, 01:22 PM
just found out: it is again SPAMCOP that has put CIS on the blacklist.

greetings - heinz -

davidh
June 13th, 2005, 01:50 PM
but i really wonder how somebody as large and powerful as AOL/CIS cannot prevent this, or, when it happens, rectify it quickly.

I wonder how quickly the Classic Compuserve user population is shrinking?

-- Compuserve does not promote Classic at all.

-- Spam problems with Classic mail seem to stay widespread.

-- I think there is no broadband offering for Classic

-- Unlimited monthly access costs about 2 and 1/2 times as much as higher quality service from "discount" ISP's.

Pretty good motivations to switch ISP.

David H.

Jeff
June 13th, 2005, 02:26 PM
just found out: it is again SPAMCOP that has put CIS on the blacklist.

greetings - heinz -

No Heinz, SpamCop doesn't put CIS on its black list, it gets there by people reporting to SpamCop that spam is coming from CIS. And as near as I can tell that is probably incorrect, or at least I have *never* seen spam coming from CIS. Hell, even my brother's college system is on SpamCop's black list, and the SysAdmins there are not so inept as to allow outgoing spam.

- Jeff

heinz57g
June 13th, 2005, 03:43 PM
jeff (which jeff is this?), yes, my ''put'' was wrong, and i knew it. i meant it was SPAMCOPs reporting system that had CIS put on their blacklist, again. worded carefully enough?

is the only way to influence this just to sit it out? will anybody at CIS notice it and take steps?

david, i am angry at CIS too, but at least for me, yr answer was nonsense. cannot explain in detail now, but YOU show me a service that gives you 1000 access points the world over, where i can dial in with the most modern computer, or the most antique telex terminal (if anybody still knows they exist). ever sat in uganda dialing in thru a phone booth and an acustic coupler, in 2005?

greetings - heinz -

davidh
June 13th, 2005, 10:15 PM
david, i am angry at CIS too, but at least for me, yr answer was nonsense. cannot explain in detail now, but YOU show me a service that gives you 1000 access points the world over, where i can dial in with the most modern computer, or the most antique telex terminal (if anybody still knows they exist). ever sat in uganda dialing in thru a phone booth and an acustic coupler, in 2005?


Since I don't travel outside USA, I have no knowledge to compare ISP's for worldwide points of presence. I had IBM.net before ATT bought them and had good service here in USA and they claimed to have good access around the world. Under ATT it became a separate (business oriented) service (ISP) from ATT Worldnet. Currently I use Earthlink and suspect that they have decent coverage outside USA but I have no detailed info.

Of course, with a teletype alone it would be impossible to access the Internet unless you could dial into a unix-style shell account. So I suspect you are quite right that a Compuserve ASCII mail account would be the least demanding hardware and software wise at the user end.

David H.

Mike
June 14th, 2005, 04:47 PM
is the only way to influence this just to sit it out? will anybody at CIS notice it and take steps?
It would be more prudent to alert CompuServe so it could take steps.

You can report it in the CompuServe Classic Support Forum (http://community.compuserve.com/cssoftware).

Lindsey
June 14th, 2005, 11:45 PM
has anybody else experienced this last few days?
No--but that's because I no longer use CompuServe for my e-mail. :(

At one time, if you travelled a lot, it was important to find an ISP with lots of nodes in different places, or at least nodes in the places you were likely to travel. Now, with so many hotels offering broadband access and Internet cafes very nearly ubiquitous, it's really not that critical for an ISP to have international nodes. Even CompuServe doesn't have anywhere near what it used to have in that regard.

--Lindsey

heinz57g
June 15th, 2005, 05:19 PM
lindsey, for the 'normal' traveller you are more than right, but unfortunately, i do not fall into that category (yet). fact is that CIS still has access (think of the SITA nodes) where others do not even know what dial-up is, and broadband of any kind is years away.

greetings - heinz -

Lindsey
June 15th, 2005, 10:57 PM
Oh, my! You must travel to some very out of the way places! (In that case, wave to Fernando when you see him!)

--Lindsey

Gary Maltzen
June 16th, 2005, 12:22 AM
i know there is little (nothing?) one can do about this
You can let me know and I will pass it along to the Classic postmaster.

Gary Maltzen
June 16th, 2005, 12:50 AM
Hmm, obviously not any more...
Host 5.32.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 7.32.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 135.32.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 3.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 4.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 8.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 9.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 13.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 55.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 131.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 132.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 133.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 134.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 135.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 136.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 137.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 140.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 152.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 153.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 154.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 155.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host 183.40.174.149.bl.spamcop.net not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

heinz57g
June 16th, 2005, 12:02 PM
gary, it got better and better as of tuesday, but i still got nine returnees yesterday, and three today. compared to 30+ on monday ...

can y tell me what to look for in the header, which IP and where, and we maybe can look into this further?

greetings - heinz -

Jeff
June 16th, 2005, 02:37 PM
lindsey, for the 'normal' traveller you are more than right, but unfortunately, i do not fall into that category (yet). fact is that CIS still has access (think of the SITA nodes) where others do not even know what dial-up is, and broadband of any kind is years away.

greetings - heinz -

Hang on to your list of nodes, Heinz. There is almost nothing here any more. AOL has about killed it all.

http://webcenters.compuserve.com/compuserve/menu/phone.jsp

- Jeff

Gary Maltzen
June 16th, 2005, 11:07 PM
can y tell me what to look for in the header, which IP and where, and we maybe can look into this further?
Look for the server that attempted delivery, usually siag****.compuserve.com with an ip of 149.174.40.***