PDA

View Full Version : General Hayden and the C.I.A.

ndebord
May 8th, 2006, 11:01 AM
It is now official, GWB has nominated the NSA general to head CIA. Time to look at his qualifications for the job and the first issue that will headline his nomination is his support and work for the President in performing wireless wiretaps while at NSA.

General Hayden told the world back in January of 2006 that he went ahead with the warrantless wiretaps because the Justice Department assured him that it was legal and that he also ran it by "3 wise men" in the NSA legal department. (You can't make this stuff up!)

On Mon Jan 23, 2006, General Hayden was questioned by the press about his views on warrantless wiretapping and the legal justification for it in terms of the 4th Amendment.

QUESTION: Jonathan Landay with Knight Ridder. I'd like to stay on the same issue, and that had to do with the standard by which you use to target your wiretaps. I'm no lawyer, but my understanding is that the Fourth Amendment of the Constitution specifies that you must have probable cause to be able to do a search that does not violate an American's right against unlawful searches and seizures. Do you use --

GEN. HAYDEN: No, actually -- the Fourth Amendment actually protects all of us against unreasonable search and seizure. That's what it says.

QUESTION: But the measure is probable cause, I believe.

GEN. HAYDEN: The amendment says unreasonable search and seizure.

QUESTION: But does it not say probable --

GEN. HAYDEN: No. The amendment says unreasonable search and seizure..