PDA

View Full Version : Some questions (and answers)


Judy G. Russell
May 31st, 2005, 01:36 PM
Here's some info posted in reply to a private message that I thought might help (plus perhaps others have better ideas, too!):

1) How the heck do I edit my name that displays? I see some people have their real name, others UserID type names (like mine). I've been through the User CP and can't find the secret, if there is one.

At the moment, you need to ask an administrator to do that. I'm still trying to find the way to let members edit their own names.

2) What is the best way to navigate back to the forum thread list after reading through a thread. I've been using IE's <back> arrow but it seems like there should be an easier way.

There are several ways. You can click on the track information at the top to go back to the forum thread list (look right under the logo at the top and you'll see hotlinks to the thread, section, etc.). You can use the Forum Jump box on the bottom. And while reading messages you may see a Previous Thread - Next Thread pair of hotlinks just above the quick reply box. (You may need to change your display mode to hybrid or threaded for that.)

3) (I know, I said a couple, but I lied) Do read messages ever get marked? I seem to read each thread from the beginning each time I visit.

Yes. Look at a thread tree (hybrid view or threaded view) and you'll see that messages that aren't new have a blue icon in front while ones that are new are yellow (no matter what I said the first time!). You can also go to new messages/threads by clicking on the New Posts link each time you visit and you can return to that as often as you'd like during each log-in.

Am I missing a "how to file somewhere that would explain some of the intricacies of how the forum works in general? Oops ... that was 4.

There's a FAQ that's pretty basic (link at the top). As time goes by we hope to make it better.

Dan in Saint Louis
May 31st, 2005, 02:40 PM
messages that aren't new have a yellow icon in front while ones that are new are blueMine seem to be the other way around?

Judy G. Russell
May 31st, 2005, 03:05 PM
Oooooops... off to edit the original post. (Thanks, Dan.)

yankeeharp
August 21st, 2005, 04:17 AM
How do I get an avatar to appear? Thanx.

Charlotte

Dan in Saint Louis
August 21st, 2005, 09:35 AM
How do I get an avatar to appear? Thanx.
Does "User Control Panel, Edit Avatar" work?

Judy G. Russell
August 21st, 2005, 10:00 AM
In the upper left hand corner of any forum page, under the logo, there's a link that reads User CP (user control panel). Click on that link, then on the left hand side there will be a series of links to edit all kinds of user options. One of them is Edit Avatar, which is what you want even if you don't yet have an avatar to edit. The prompts once you're there are pretty self-explanatory.

yankeeharp
August 22nd, 2005, 04:26 AM
Does "User Control Panel, Edit Avatar" work?No. I tried that. I get the edit avatar script, but when I press the radio button to change it, nothing happens. I.e., -->

http://ourworld.cs.com/omsapphire/editavatar.gif

yankeeharp
August 22nd, 2005, 04:32 AM
One of them is Edit Avatar, which is what you want even if you don't yet have an avatar to edit.Oh, I have whacking great quantities of avatars ( http://ourworld.cs.com/omsapphire/avatars/ ), I just can't find a way to upload one (see above reply). :confused:

Dan in Saint Louis
August 22nd, 2005, 09:29 AM
No. I tried that. I get the edit avatar script, but when I press the radio button to change it, nothing happens.

Scroll down to "Custom Avatar".

bob(mc)
August 22nd, 2005, 11:13 AM
Scroll down to "Custom Avatar".

Don't see that anywhere! Should it be under User CP?

yankeeharp
August 22nd, 2005, 11:28 AM
Don't see that anywhere! Should it be under User CP?I don't see it either. Perhaps it will appear when we have posted a certain number of times and have been upgraded to "Member" from "registered user".

Judy G. Russell
August 22nd, 2005, 01:47 PM
Yes, but you need to be a member (sorry -- I forgot about that detail). Post a message in the Request for Access section...

Judy G. Russell
August 22nd, 2005, 01:48 PM
Yup, you got it. It's a members only feature. (Sorry, I forgot about that.) Pop on down to Requests for Access and post there. It's the one and only time we'll ask for a name.

yankeeharp
August 22nd, 2005, 02:50 PM
Yes, but you need to be a member (sorry -- I forgot about that detail). Post a message in the Request for Access section...OK -- done. I didn't ask before, though I was a registered member with essate access, because I couldn't see much use for a section based on help with a program that, sadly, I can no longer use.

I expect I shall get a PM for my ID details? My cs id is 75443,631; I expect I could dredge up my Tap code if necessary.

Judy G. Russell
August 22nd, 2005, 04:10 PM
Nope, no details necessary -- the userid is enough.

yankeeharp
August 23rd, 2005, 02:23 AM
Nope, no details necessary -- the userid is enough.OK. Thanks.

Dan in Saint Louis
April 16th, 2007, 11:31 AM
Please remind me -- are there "Ignore Forum" and "Ignore Thread" features? How to do? Thanks!

Judy G. Russell
April 16th, 2007, 03:14 PM
Please remind me -- are there "Ignore Forum" and "Ignore Thread" features? How to do? Thanks!Not built in, but if there's enough demand for it, there's an add-on we could consider.

Dan in Saint Louis
April 16th, 2007, 06:22 PM
Not built in, but if there's enough demand for it, there's an add-on we could consider.
Was there before the upgrade? Because I only started getting the Dixonary threads in the past few days. I thought when this site opened there was a way to ignore that section.

Something else new is "The threads below have not been updated since your last visit but still contain unread posts." That's curious, because I leave a "clean slate" behind me each time I visit.

Judy G. Russell
April 16th, 2007, 07:47 PM
Was there before the upgrade? Because I only started getting the Dixonary threads in the past few days. I thought when this site opened there was a way to ignore that section.I suspect you have your bookmark set to do a getnew that excludes the for-real The Parlor section but now that we have a test section for Google, you're seeing that. Try bookmarking this:
http://www.tapcis.com/forums/search.php?do=getnew&exclude=5,22
I think you'll have to tell it to remember you for this to work.

Something else new is "The threads below have not been updated since your last visit but still contain unread posts." That's curious, because I leave a "clean slate" behind me each time I visit.Yep, that's new in the new software. I haven't quite figured out what triggers it. I just always hit the Quick Links, Mark Forums as Read option.

Dan in Saint Louis
April 16th, 2007, 08:18 PM
I suspect you have your bookmark set to do a getnew that excludes the for-real The Parlor section
You got it! My bookmark only excludes section 5. I imagine that either you or Sidney taught me that trick, but as senility sets in...

Judy G. Russell
April 16th, 2007, 09:56 PM
You got it! My bookmark only excludes section 5. I imagine that either you or Sidney taught me that trick, but as senility sets in...Bound to have been Sidney. Half of what I know I learned from him!

Lindsey
April 16th, 2007, 10:38 PM
Yep, that's new in the new software. I haven't quite figured out what triggers it. I just always hit the Quick Links, Mark Forums as Read option.
I like that feature, because if I don't have time to work through all the unread threads in one sitting, I don't lose them when I have to log out.

--Lindsey

Judy G. Russell
April 16th, 2007, 11:01 PM
I like that feature, because if I don't have time to work through all the unread threads in one sitting, I don't lose them when I have to log out.It is a nice new feature.

Lindsey
April 16th, 2007, 11:50 PM
It is a nice new feature.
Should help me get to bed at a more reasonable hour! (She says as the clock ticks up to 1 a.m. . . .)

--Lindsey

BobKnepper
December 7th, 2008, 08:22 PM
TapCis is probably, I fear, dead but I enjoyed using it for many years till a month or so ago so I decided to inquire. My ancient computer wouldn't support current AT&T DSL so I got one with XP in one partition and DOS in another.

I liked the offline reader aspect of TapCis, not to limit connect time but rather to write a message, do other tasks, and then review the message before sending it.

Thanks for the memories and any suggestions.

Bob - from Anaheim, Calif.

Judy G. Russell
December 7th, 2008, 10:44 PM
TapCis is probably, I fear, dead but I enjoyed using it for many years till a month or so ago so I decided to inquire. My ancient computer wouldn't support current AT&T DSL so I got one with XP in one partition and DOS in another. I liked the offline reader aspect of TapCis, not to limit connect time but rather to write a message, do other tasks, and then review the message before sending it. Thanks for the memories and any suggestions.Tapcis should still work in your DOS partition (and in fact even in Windows) but only over a dial-up connection, Bob. If you're using your DSL connection, Tapcis would need to ride a TCP/IP connection and for that you'd need (at a minimum) additional software that I'm not sure still exists.

What I did was convert over to Eudora; others are using Thunderbird. But any good email program these days will do pretty much what you want it to do.

BobKnepper
December 9th, 2008, 09:02 AM
Thank You, Judy.

I will explore Eudora and Thunderbird via Google. Support from my computer supplier, despite recommendations, has been poor. Haven't found a consultant.

Am still on dialup but, hopefully, not for long. AT&T technician spent from before 10:00 am till after 3:00 pm and then declared the underground lines fairly close to our house have degraded in the forty years we have been here. Are OK for voice but not for DSL or TV. They will replace and try again in two weeks.

Bob - from Anaheim, Calif.

Judy G. Russell
December 9th, 2008, 07:04 PM
I will explore Eudora and Thunderbird via Google. Support from my computer supplier, despite recommendations, has been poor. Haven't found a consultant.It isn't terribly hard to get up and running, Bob. Getting used to the new format takes a little while, but once you get used to it, it works just fine.